Kumo

Kumo is a bubble bath brand that I created as my response to JDO Raw Brief competition 2021. JDO is an award winning multidisciplinary design agency who focuses on graphic and structural designs. They hold unique competitions for the students to be part of annually which are centered to develop our skills and track record for spotting design stars of the future.

This year they came in with a brief which was to design distinctive packaging for essential items that you buy in the store. It could range from a can of tuna to toilet rolls. I found it fun to design some elements for bubble bath, hence why I chose this product. Here, I will be going through my process of shaping this brand.

Branding

The Logo
About Kumo
Kumo Instagram Mock-up

Behind The Scenes

Initial logo idea

The logo

I played around with the elements of clouds for the logo. My base idea for this branding was from my childhood imagination of feeling the clouds. As I created my first initial logo, it didn’t really struck out to me. So, I created some more alternative logos, keeping the same concept and I finally landed on my favorite final design.

Final logo creation process
Meaning behind the logo

Product Design

As for the product design, I wanted to make the shape of the bottle more unique and jolly to the ones that we find on the market today. I started out by sketching the 2 alternative bottle designs, one being slim and “2D” and the other being more round and “3D”. I went with the first choice as it helped me keep it simple and modern

For me to be able to bring this sketch to life, I had to use Blender which is an amazing free 3D modeling software. However, due to my basic knowledge on this software and my low processing computer, I took some help from my friend who is really talented in using Blender. I presented him my vision on how I was picturing this product design to look like and with hours of call, He was able to model these beautiful designs.

After we finished the product modeling, I was sent the blender file to arrange how I wanted them to be rendered. Since I wasn’t able to render the images as fast with my PC, I took some screenshots of different angels and positions.

Next I took the rendered images to Adobe Lightroom to edit for more color pop.

Adobe Lightroom touch ups
Meaning behind the product design

Posters

To give my brand a world to live in, I created some posters to fit the theme. Keeping the visuals simple and calming was my way to communicate on what this brand is about.

Software used: Adobe Photoshop and Adobe Illustrator.

Adobe Photoshop to edit the posters

Conclusion

This project was definitely a new challenge for me which I had real fun working on. Product design is something that I don’t usually do and this project changes my mind, I will be doing some more in the future as I am also learning blender in my free time. I am satisfied with my outcome, they are exactly how I envisioned my brand to look like.


Leave a comment